New postcards

Your postcards have been steadily arriving in our office. Here are some that have come in recently.

We’re asking family carers who support a family member with learning disabilities to fill in one of our postcards. On the front we asked families to write down their hope for the future of their family member and on the back we asked ‘What do you need to make that happen?’. We’ll be passing the messages on to key people we think really need to hear them. Here are some of the postcards that arrived last week. You can print one out to fill in at home here or email us your answers to everybodymatters@thecbf.org.uk.

“I want my son to have an ordinary life – I was told my expectations are too high”

ordinary lifeOn the back where we’ve asked what kind of support you need from commissioners and services. The back of this one says: “I need to be respected and valued. I need people to listen”.

“I want my son to have a Health Budget so that he can change care providers and start to have control over his life and his home and be kept safe. I want his family completely respected and valued”

I want my son to have a Health Budget so that he can change care providersOn the back of this one it says:

“I need the PCT to release the control and power from themselves to my son and to look inside themselves and to see their wrongdoings”.

“I want my son to lead an interesting and fulfilled life”

I want my son to lead an interesting and fulfilled life

The back of this one says:

“I need ‘the system’ to share that hope and work with me to arrange high quality and flexible support so it can happen!”

“Being sensitive to needs of adults and children with learning difficulties. More media aware of this issue and how it affects families as a whole.”

Being sensitive to the needs of adults and children with learning difficultiesOne family carer even went to the trouble of photocopying a postcard. The back of this one reads:

“I need more up to date information about how we can best deal with difficult situations for all the family”.

Thank you so much to everyone who has sent in a postcard so far. If you haven’t filled yours out yet, you can download one to print at home here. We’ll also be posting a version out with our next newsletter. If you don’t yet get our newsletter you can sign up to receive it on our website here.

For more information about the Challenging Behaviour Foundation and to see all our free resources for family carers go to our website www.challengingbehaviour.org.uk.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

